Ruth Slavid talks architecture

Like what you do – freelance post 3

Posted in Uncategorized by ruthslavid on December 30, 2012

Yvonne Courtney took me to task on twitter yesterday for saying that freelancing was all about money. She was quite right, I probably didn’t phrase it very well. What I should have stressed is that there is a straightforward contract in which the freelance exchanges their services for money, and that this simplifies what you do immensely. But it certainly makes life a lot easier. So here is my next rule:

You cannot always do what you like, but make sure that you like what you do.

I don’t quite know how to get to this point, except that if you are thrown into the world of freelance you should certainly make sure that you have chosen an area of work that gives you pleasure. If you liked your work already, carry on. If not, find something different. 

For me, the great pleasure of freelancing has been the opportunity to write so much more. When you are in a pressurised staff job, you have to be sensible and farm out the work that could be done by others – and all too often that is the writing. Now, writing is one of the things that people pay me to do, one of the skills that I can offer (or sell if you prefer). 

When I was first made redundant, I wondered if I should embark on a course of study. But in fact the range of things that I have researched has felt like an ongoing CPD process, an intensive educational process which has meant that, for the moment at least, I do not feel the need to study formally. 

So yes the satisfaction comes from the job itself, from the intellectual stimulation and from the knowledge that you are doing the best you can. And of course from the people. But I will write about that another time.

Leave a Reply

